Notan Art Themes in Google Drawings – Kick Start – SLJ – Blog Number 26

Hello everyone,

Today I am blogging about the Notan Art. This Notan Art is about positive and negative, dark and light. I used the template and shapes from Google Drawings to make it look awesome. The only 2 colors you need for this Notan Art is black and white. This art is from  Japan. The person that made the Notan Art famous is Arthur Wesley Dow. Arthur Wesley Dow included Notan Art in his art book and brought it to America.

I hope you my Notan Art.

What Notan Art did you make and what does it look like?

If you’ve been to Japan did you see lots of Notan Art everywhere?

Bye for now and see you next time.

8 thoughts on “Notan Art Themes in Google Drawings – Kick Start – SLJ – Blog Number 26

  1. Hey Mark, loved your Not an artwork looks so cool especially the shapes. I loved how you did your name to.

    Keep it up!
    Ailish

  2. Kia ora Mark,

    It is Charlotte here, a blog commenter from the Summer Learning Journey. Well done on your awesome post! I think this activity is great because you can be as creative as you would like.

    This activity is actually one of my favourites! I really like how each piece of art looks unique and interesting. How did you choose what images you were going to use on your Notan art?

    Ka Pai on including lots of questions in your blog post! This helps to encourage your readers to leave a positive/helpful/thoughtful comment! In answer to your questions, I haven’t actually made Notan art before – after seeing this activity I am going to try it out in my class this year!
    I have been to Japan before, there were so many beautiful art forms there! Now that I think about it I think I can remember seeing some Notan art! Have you been to Japan before? What is your favourite place you have traveled to?

    Ngā Mihi Nui
    Charlotte Visser
    Summer Learning Journey

    1. Kia Ora Charlotte,

      Mark here, Thank you for your comments. The shape of the sun is very nice to work with because it has so many points and you can turn it about. No I have not been to Japan yet. I hope to visit Japan someday and do some Beyblade battles and see some Pokemon. My favorite place to travel to is Malaysia. That’s where I was born.

      Take Care

      Mark

      1. Kia ora Mark,

        I would love to visit Malaysia! Have you been more than once? Do you have any suggestions as to where I should go or what I should visit if I go to Malaysia?

        Ngā Mihi Nui
        Charlotte Visser
        Summer Learning Journey

        1. Kia Ora

          When you go to Malaysia, you must go swimming with the turtles in Redang Island. I lived in Malaysia for 8 years before coming to New Zealand.

          Thanks a bunch.

          Mark

  3. Hi Mark
    Your notan art looks amazing. It looks like it gont reflected in a mirror which is so cool! Well done for getting onto the week 5 Saturday special! I look forward to looking for more awesome blogs done by you!
    Sophia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *