Hybrid Sports – Kick Start – Summer Learning Journey – Blog Number 28

Hello everyone,

Today I recorded myself to explain what each sport is and the sports I choose were, dodge ball, water polo, football and basketball. Hybrid sport is when you combine 2 or more sports together to make a new sport. I choose these sports because I am good at knowing what the roles are and how to play them. I made a part 1 which I explained how to play football and basketball and I made a part 2 which I explained about how to play water polo and dodge ball.

If we combine football and basketball we can call it The Ball Game because we can use legs and hands. We can do everything with the ball.

If we combine water polo and dodge ball we can call it The Water Dodge Ball because its just dodge ball in the water.

Football and Basketball – Part 1.

 

Dodge ball And Water Polo – Part 2

 

Videos of me explaining the roles in different sports.

Enjoy

What are your most favorite sports and games ?

My most favorite game to play is Dodge ball.

My most favorite sport is Football.

Bye for now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hybrid Sports – Kick Start – Summer Learning Journey – Blog Number 28

  1. Kia ora Mark,

    It’s Charlotte again, a Summer Learning Journey Blog Commenter. What a fantastic job you have done on the Hybrid Sports activity. Did you learn anything new during this activity?

    Football and Basketball and two of my favourite sports so I was glad to see that you had put them together. What would you call your new sport? Perhaps a combination of the words Football and Basketball?

    I think I would find playing a hybrid sport of Dodgeball and Waterpolo quite difficult but that is because I find both of those sports hard!

    Well done on including a few questions at the end of your blog. My favourite sport is basketball, I like how it is so fast and there is always something exciting to look at. Why is Football your favourite sport?

    Ngā Mihi Nui
    Charlotte Visser
    Summer Learning Journey

    1. Hi Charlotte

      Thanks for your comments. I have edited my blog to included my answers. Hope it helps. Thanks again.
      I love football because my friends and I play it during play time in school.

      Mark

  2. Kia ora Mark,

    Thanks for giving the hybrid sports challenge a go! I think dodgeball and waterpolo would be very difficult – because I am not a strong swimmer, but I know many of my ex students who played waterpolo would LOVE this idea!

    I like that you shared how you play each game and gave us some tips with playing as well! Hopefully you are able to take back your ball game idea to your friends at school and you can all enjoy a new sport all year round – which surface would you play it on (the field like football, or the courts like basketball, or even both – so it wouldn’t matter?)

    My favourite sport is netball – I’ve coached 7 different school teams; I also really like reffing and watching waterpolo – it is such a fun and exciting game. Ki-o-rahi is another one of my favourites, I like how it combines so many different sports together and has a rich Māori history!

    I see football is your favourite sport – do you support any team in particular?

    Whaea Stacey

    1. Kia Ora Whaea Stacey,

      Mark here, thank you for your comments. The team that I support in Football is St Francis Of Assisi. There’s also 1 thing I never told you yet but my most favorite sport/game is Dodge ball. What is your most favorite game ?

      Peace Out

      Mark From St Francis Of Assisi School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *